The PurpleCloud cheongsams

A few weeks ago, I was walking along OUE link bridge when I spotted a boutique with cheongsams on display. It is called Frockalicious, a shop that offers not just qipaos but working dresses and formal gowns. I didn’t have time to browse through the selections and so returned on another day. This time, I spoke briefly with the owner, Jennifer Choi, who told me that the cheongsams were not designed by her, and instead from a fashion brand called “PurpleCloud”. I did a little research and found that it was the brainchild of a Singaporean duo, who wanted to create whimsical cheongsams.

The facebook post of PurpleCloud does not have many pictures, and instead I obtained the kind permission of Jennifer to lift images from her site. Not all the cheongsams are striking, in my opinion, and I only selected those that caught my eyes.

Let’s start with the classic cut. For those who prefer the traditional look, here is a lace cheongsam that will not go wrong in any formal occasions or even for a client meeting. 

cs263-bi-03

One of the dresses that attracted me is this red lace overlay qipao, which oozes sexiness. 

cs369-bi-01

I am liking another lace cheongsam here; particularly the floral print. 

cs289-bi-06

If you prefer the modern look, there are a number of choices such as these below. I am sure many ladies will be pleased that the collars are also shorter compared to the traditional style.

cs320_bi-01

cs222-bi-01

cs332-bi-01

This interesting piece below is an eye-catching origami style cheongsam with drawstring. It is part of a 4-piece Japanese picnic collection. 

cs268-pc-bi-01

Check out this stylish skater style cheongsam! 

cs372-bi-01

For an Audrey-Hepburn look but with an oriental twist, we have one in gingham cheongsam and the other in babydoll cut.

autumn15114-bi-01

autumn15122-bi-01

This piece below is one of my favorites! A mini cheongsam with modern print that comes with matching jacket. A very  chic looking ensemble! 

cs274-bi-01cs274-bi-03

Another outstanding piece is this gorgeous red short dress with a peekaboo lacy back. This is the cheongsam equivalent of the LBD. 

g14093-bi-06g14093-bi-07

Finally, the dress that bowled me over! A regal long cheongsam inspired by the kimono. I find the design and the print absolutely amazing!

cs387-bi-01

When I was at the shop, I took pictures of a modern cheongsam which is not listed in the website. A simple piece which goes well for office wear.

Generally, in terms of workmanship, I would say it is pretty alright for the prices the cheongsams are going for, which are in the range of between S$129 and below S$300. Of course you cannot expect the quality of Studio 55, least alone Lai Chan. But if you compare with Blum or the mid-range brands, I think the PurpleCloud cheongsams are worth considering. 

Leave a Reply

