Chasing after Eevee, Pikachu and Bulbasaur

If you are wondering what are those mentioned in the title, then you are clearly not playing Pokemon Go. I have mentioned in my last post that I have joined in the PG craze, and I’m not ashamed to admit it. I have played many game apps before, but I have not experienced one that is this fun and captivating. In fact it’s not only me, but Buddy enjoys it too. He loves the cute critters like Pikachu, Eevee, and Bulbasaur. He even named his doggy pillow lovey as “Eevee”, and “turned” his little dino models into the Pokemon creatures.

Buddy remembers the names of many critters, and how they evolve. And after each catch, without fail, he wil announce, “Gotcha! Eevee (or whatever the Pokemon) was caught.” Not only do we have fun catching them, but we also get a kick out of battling in the gyms. In fact, he has a fascination with the latter, and always wants to check out the creatures defending them.

But Buddy doesn’t just sit around and get glued to the cellphone. He incorporates the game into his physical play. He acts out as Eevee and wants us to throw Pokeballs at him while he dodges them. He also  does gym battles with me, when he acts out as a Vaporeon (because it is super duper Eevee), stamping his foot on the ground while I am a Pidgeot (flapping my hands like a crazy person), and we will end up pushing against each other like Sumo wrestlers. 


I know there are people who regard the game as stupid, and some religious leaders even branded PG as unholy and called on the followers not to play the game. The rationale given is that it is addictive and turns people against God, and some even insinuate that it is of the devil’s making. Well, I didn’t know that the Divine Entity is so sensitive to an app, that it would threaten his status. Or is it really the egoistic attitude of men, who think they speak for God? As far as I can see, there are a lot of other addictions around us, like power, being in control, money, material goods, fame, and the list goes on. In fact, with so much atrocity, injustices and heinous behaviors going on every minute, you would think there are much more serious and legitimate issues to tackle instead of criticizing PG. I guess it’s easy to attack an app since it is passive, instead of standing up against child abuse, exploitation of labor, inciting hate or violence in the name of religion, or even exploitation of environment.

Sure, I know some PG trainers (or players in layman term) can be rather idiotic and inconsiderate, like dashing across the road to chase after a Pokémon, getting into a fight, and even leaving behind trash after congregating at an area. Unfortunately, there’re always bad apples in any society. But people don’t seem to realize that it has nothing to do with the app, but everything to do with the person using it.

Anyway, I think PG is a better game app than others out there because it actually gets trainers to get out of the house. I was also told by a friend, who had been to a hot pokestop (where hundreds of  trainers gather), that it was really fun interacting with fellow aficionados who are pretty friendly as well. I haven’t been to any of such hotspots, but I have been sharing tips with another friend who has attained a higher level.

I read a news report today that the game is losing popularity, but the crappy article doesn’t even provide reasons for it. I can guess what it might be, but still, I am going to enjoy it while I can, since it provides another chance for buddy and I to bond together. 

 

Leave a Reply

