The cheongsams are back!

Sorry for the long gap in between posts as I have been running dry of ideas for my blog. Luckily I have some recent news on the cheongsam. In fact the title refers to those from The Happy Cheongsam, which made a return after a long hiatus when designer/founder, Ming, was on maternity leave earlier this year. The latest collection 11 was launched last Friday (9 October) with the theme “The Playground”. This was a smaller than usual collection comprising of four dresses and two tops, though there are actually only three designs.

First, we have the shift dress which comes in either black or white.
image
image

Then there are the pleated skirt cheongsams: black or pastel blue.
image
image

Finally, the two tops.
image

image

I guess May is trying to get back into the design groove, and hopefully she will do so soon. Because, to be honest, I am indifferent to this range other than the tops. But I wish the prints are more interesting or sophisticated instead of the vehicle motif.

Our Bitsy Prints is launching it’s 26th collection after a hiatus too. (Oh my, has it been so many since?) The theme is “Cool Blue”, and I have noticed there is a change in the model. Anyway you can get your hands on the dresses tomorrow (13 October) at12 noon. (In fact OBP has also changed it launch time to daytime.)

I don’t have the closed-up pictures, but looking at the collection, the collars seem a little low. I feel that some of the dresses seems less like cheongsams and more like typical frocks. The collection is just not exciting enough for me to stand by at launch time to rush out an order email.

image

image

image

image

image

I hoping that we’ll see more interesting designs as Christmas and subsequently Chinese New Year draw closer.

Leave a Reply

