A simple cheongsam

I admit I haven’t been following my schedule of putting up a post once a week, and that is because, lately, there are hardly any materials for my blog. Not sure the reasons why, but there aren’t that many new designs for cheongsams. So far, I have taken a look at Shanghai Tang‘s autumn/winter collection for 2015.

For this season, ST has gone for the simple and uncluttered look. Check out these dresses.

image

An A-line dress with leather trimmings. Reminds me of the 60’s mod fashion.

image

Trimmings and pleated skirt.

image

A pretty pleated dress in a beautiful sapphire blue color.

For those who prefer the straight fit cheongsams, here are a few options.
image

image

image

Joli Pretty launched its 15th collection a couple of weeks ago, which is amazing since it seems to be pushing out dresses every month. There are some new designs this time, which I think will appeal to the office ladies (OL), and the collection is also a showcase of simplicity.

image

image

image

image

I took pictures of a couple of cheongsams from Hana recently, and you can see that they are also in line with the simple theme.
image

image

If you ask me what I think of these dresses, I have to say, sure, it’s good to be simple. However I find them looking a little boring and even bordering on stale. Unfortunately the staid-looking prints are not helping to liven up the dresses. The only designs which look somewhat interesting  are the A-line black dress and blue pleated dresses from ST. I’m afraid it looks like there won’t be much of anything to gush about in the next couple of months, and we’ll have to wait till December when we’ll get a fair dose of exciting designs in anticipation of Chinese New Year.

Leave a Reply

