Laichan cheongsams: something new, something regular

I went to check out Laichan boutique last week, hoping to see new cheongsam designs in denim. But, unfortunately, there has been a delay.  Eddie told me that maybe there would be a few new ones coming in this week but most  would only hit the store later. Still there are some new interesting designs as well as the usual ones in pretty prints.

Let’s take a look at the regular ones first. Here is the usual floral print with the signature jade buttons.
image
Another regular cheongsam in a pretty cotton kimono fabric which I really like. It also comes in another similar print with lighter colors. (The latter goes better for ladies with the tan look after seeing a regular customer with a sun-kissed appearance trying it on.)
image

The underside seams are always beautifully sewn.
image
When I first saw the below dress, where the fabric is a cotton linen mix, it didn’t appeal much to me. But the more I look at it, I start to appreciate it’s simplicity and contemporary look. I like the interesting juxtaposition of the color panels.
image
An elegant and classic cheongsam in crepe fabric with floral appliqué pasted on it, and it comes with a white camisole.
image

A close-up of the fabric.
image

The underside seam.
image

Now, let’s talk about the new designs. The cheongsam below has an interesting woven mesh covering the top bodice. Very modern but I must say a little avant garde for me.
image

Look at how well made the mesh is and the amazing sewing skill that attached the mesh to the dress.
image

image

I guess you can say that this maroon cheongsam is inspired by the flamenco dress. Though it is not something I would get, but I am very impressed by the excellent workmanship and quality.
image

image

image

For those chubby ladies who don’t have proportionate figures, you can consider this loose fit cheongsam with a zip along the front panel.

image

image

image

Here is a cheongsam top with ethic print that reminds me of the Ikat fabric.
image
Laichan is now experimenting with an unisex mandarin jacket design. It has stone buttons that runs along the side, much like the Chinese blouse of the past.
image

The embroidery of the jacket also reflects the same high quality workmanship. Check out the interesting details, like the button holder is made from a different fabric. Like some of his cheongsams, Laichan had piping sewn along the inner seam.

image

2 thoughts on “Laichan cheongsams: something new, something regular

  1. The cheongsams from Laichan are gorgeous, though most of them fall under the “special occasions” category. Dont think many ladies would consider the first few pieces as everyday work wear.

    Love the design and cutting of the first 4 cheongsams in this post.

    • Hi Vincent,

      I guess many women think Laichan’s cheongsams are too formal, though I do beg to differ. Among the first four cheongsams featured in this post, I think the kimono print dress and the navy blue block color cheongsam are fine for office wear. In fact if I get any of these, I can certainly wear them to office. But I also wear Blum cheongsams to office too, as well as the tailored made ones. I would consider those dresses with elaborate embroidery or lace or made with special fabric as formal wear.

Leave a Reply

