An Italian lunch

A couple of months ago, my colleagues and I had a thank you lunch at Forlino restaurant at One Fullerton, #02-06. I didn’t  put up the review earlier because it was close to Chinese New Year and I was focused on cheongsam posts. Anyway, I guess that was a good thing because I am running dry on materials for my blog.

Forlino is an Italian restaurant and has been around for many years. But I never got to trying the food until colleague C suggested it for an expensive lunch venue. Well, since someone was willing to pay for it, why not?

Forlino interior has a bright and airy feel to it because of the surrounding windows. As befitting the restaurant, the decor is distinctive Italian with the chic chandelier and candle holder, the wall mural, and the ornate side table.
image
image

image

There are two types of set lunches available, and the four of us had the business lunch course.
image

image

At S$38++, it consists of appetizer, main and dessert with coffee or tea. So it wasn’t  really as expensive as it turned on to be, we did help colleague J saved some money. ;).

I chose the foie gras which cost additional S $10 (yes I know about the poor goose but it’s a weakness for me), pan fried sea bream, and passion fruit panna cotta for dessert.

There was warm bread and butter served prior to the appetizer, which was very nice.
image

On the foie gras appetizer, though it was tasty, it was nothing memorable. There was nothing to make it stand out unlike what I had at Bistro DB a few years ago, where the liver was paired with sweet apricots.
image

As for the other appetizers, those who had the Buffalo Mozzarella salad with Prosciutto like it.
image

Our vegetarian colleague, S, had the sweet corn soup which she enjoyed very much.
image

However we were disappointed with our mains. I felt the pan-fried sea bream was a tad dry for me, probably from being over-cooked. I didn’t even finish it.
image

Colleague J had the pork loin “saltimbucco” didn’t enjoy it either because he is the sort who likes his pork with the meaty flavor. I guess he felt the dish didn’t taste like pork, but this is more of a personal preference.
image

Colleague S had the spaghetti ‘Mancini, and she thought it was rather bland. But she’s an Indian who is used to spices and in-your-face flavors. She joked that when the Indians go holidaying in Italy, they questioned what was wrong with the pasta. (“Why is it so bland? Where’s the curry sauce?”)
image

Dessert is usually the highlight of any meal, but unfortunately I chose the wrong one. The passion fruit panna cotta was a little tart for me. The sweet white chocolate ganache didn’t help.
image

Whereas the Taleggio that my colleagues selected was much better. This is a bread stick with three different interesting dips: truffle honey, onion marmalade and a parmesan cheese grissini.
image

So what do I think of Forlino? The food is really a mix bag. But for the price of S $38++, I guess I can’t complain too much. Besides the ambience was rather nice, the restaurant was not noisy, and service was quite good. But the best part was the totally enjoyable conversation, thanks to J.

(I like to give readers a heads up that my posts will not be as regular as before because I’m bogged down with work and at the same time, trying to get ideas for next posts. Apologies for this.)

Leave a Reply

