Getting cheongsam-pretty for CNY

Blum has launched some really gorgeous looking cheongsam for spring, and they are tempting me. Though at more than S$300 price range, I am holding back. I would rather wait for the sale, which doesn’t happen often, and usually the selection is limited. But at 50% off, it is quite a good deal. So for the time being, it’s feasting for the eyes.

Here are a couple of orchid-themed dresses available.
image

image
The Japanese trend continues.

image
image
image

I love this regal-looking blue cheongsam with dragon print and lace sleeves. This is fit for royalty!
image
This batik inspired ethnic print is beautiful as well.
image
Still, I have to admit that Blum cheongsams are rather formal, and may even be a little too formal for work. If you have fallen in love with any of them, you can consider getting it for a special occasion.

For something that can be worn on a regular basis; I like Lark & Peony’s new collection for the year (finally) which has some beautiful prints. This will be launched today, featuring cheongsams with pleated skirts and straight-cut fit. The formers are of the “Rhapsodie Bohemienne” range which has vibrant ethic prints, and the latters are of the Princess series.

L&P’s designer, Junie, had kindly allowed me to have a preview yesterday and take photos. Here are some of the Bohemienne dresses, taken from L&P FB page. When I first saw them, I love the colors and the patterns that are reminiscence of South/Central Asian cultures.
image

image

Upon seeing the actual dresses, I realize the colors are not as bright as in the pictures (probably due to lighting), but they are richer.
image
I asked to try the gold colored dress.
image

I have to say I really like the contrast of gold background against the pastel green piping, and the vibrant patterns along the hem. And the side pockets also won me over. (I have a preference for dresses with pockets now.) The cotton material is rather comfortable too, though the waist is a little tight (it might be because it sits a little lower because of the cut). I asked to try a bigger size, but Ruth (Junie’s team member) advised otherwise as it would be too big for me.

I was also interested in the Princess dress, which was launched late last year, and this time, it comes in red, fuchsia pink and royal blue colors. It is not lined as the material is stretchy.

image

Bright red color for CNY.

I tried on the pink dress.
image

Unfortunately it doesn’t fit well on me. I think the design is more suited for ladies with hour glass figure, and I am not voluptuous enough for it. The sleeves and collars are too wide for me as well. A pity.

While I was there, Ruth showed me another design that was not available on FB or the online site. This is in the clsssic cut – straight fit, but with interesting juxtaposition of fabrics. I understand that Junie spent six months on this design to get it right, because it was rather difficult to incorporate the odd-shaped panels into the main fabric.
image
image

Notice how the two batik fabric panels, running down from the waist to the upper legs, help to accentuate the waist. But I wanted to reconsider this piece, because, admittedly, it didn’t jump out at me.

At the end, I bought the gold dress, which would be altered by shortening it by an inch at the shoulders. This way, the waist will be raised slightly and sits more comfortably on my bodice. And it will also fix the puckering fabric on the back.

Like Blum, L&P offers alteration service at no extra cost. The latter will also courier the dress to you (within Singapore) free as well.

7 thoughts on “Getting cheongsam-pretty for CNY

    • Hi,

      Unfortunately Blum never announced their sales. You can try checking out during the second half of the year if they have sales for past cheongsams. It’s really a matter of trying your luck. Sometimes, when the store is planned for refurbishment, it will have a sale (though it doesn’t always include the cheongsams).

Leave a Reply

