More cheongsams abound at the stores

As mentioned in my previous post, I am featuring CNY  cheongsams from Miz Apparels (MA) for this one, amongst others.

Lynn from MA sent me a few promotional shots of the new launch last weekend, to alert me on their CNY collection which has recently arrived at the stores. All except one are mother-daughter sets.
image

image

image

You will notice that they are all identical mother and daughter dresses. Now, I think they are rather pretty for the little girls. In fact I think MA offers the prettiest little girl cheongsams in the marketplace, and if I had a daughter, I would get them for her. But I seriously don’t think the prints and designs are suitable for a mother. The adult model looks like she is in an upsized kiddy dress, totally not age-appropriate.

I went to the MA store at One Raffles Place (4th level), and saw another set of matching dresses at the display. Again, really cute on the little girl, but doubtful as an adult wear.
image
image

I met Lynn at the store, and she told me that for the upcoming CNY fashion, they have designed brooches to go with the dresses. Like in the above pictures, the man with top hat and mustache is one brooch, and there are others, such as a panda brooch to go with the panda print dress. I guess they are following the foot steps of Tong Tong Friendship Store, because one of the staff noticed the Tong TONG brooch I wore on my cheongsam and exclaimed it was cute. Lynn told her that she had seen other customers wearing similar brooches from Tong Tong as well.

MA has a really cute little cheongsam dress with bunny print, where the fabric seems to be of a soft terry cotton material, and it looks comfy as well.
image

The same print and fabric are found in an adult cheongsam top, but I think it is only suitable for a young lady.
image

MA does have something more appropriate for an adult. Lynn showed me the dress below which comes in three colors. Like I mentioned in my previous post, there is a nippon trend for the upcoming CNY cheongsams. Also like the blue floral print cheongsam from Blum (featured in last post), this design comes with an obi belt.
image

Other than the red color shown above, there is an orange and a black. I personally feel that the orange dress is really pretty and best of all, it comes with side pockets. I must say I am tempted by it. The dress is not overly complicated, unlike the one from Blum.

Other boutiques are also launching cheongsams though Christmas is not over yet. The below lavender dress is from another boutique at One Raffles Place, and off-hand, I can’t remember the name.
image

Overall, the cheongsams tend to be of the straight fit design, like these from Angel Republic (also in the same building); nothing that stands out.
image

Typical cheongsam from Vourgeois, and I can see that the bottom seams are shoddy. I am not going to pay a couple of hundred bucks for quality like this.
image

For my next post, I will be featuring cheongsams available at Chinatown.

Leave a Reply

