Finally, the CNY cheongsams

I thought I would put up a lighter post this time, after a very serious topic in the last one (though the issue is constantly on my mind). Besides I have been waiting to put up a post on the Chinese New Year (CNY) cheongsams.

The first to launch the festive collection is Our Bitsy Prints, on 27th November, called “Flower Power”. There is no new designs here, all of them are rehashed from previous collections, A set of mother-daughter matching dresses was included in the mix.
image
image
To be honest, I don’t find the little girl cheongsam as pretty as those from Miz Apparels; it seems more like a casual dress to me. The mama design was offered in one of the previous collections, and is one which I don’t think much of. But I guess it may be suitable for the chubby ladies.

image
OBP has launched two prints for this high shoulder-cut design, which doesn’t appeal to me.

The one that caught my eyes is this wrap skirt cheongsam dress.
image
I like the pretty colors and the faux wrap skirt design which is something new for my wardrobe. This time I was super quick to place my order. On a side note, there was a couple of times when I had wanted to get a dress from OBP, but was never fast enough. For this collection, to make sure I would get what I wanted, I had OBP website opened, and drafted an email in preparation. When it was launch time, I quickly refreshed the website, scanned through the dresses and spotted this, and within two minutes sent out the email. When i received a reply from OBP, I was pleasantly surprised to learn that it would be an early Christmas gift from them, and so thank you very much for it.

When I sent this wrap skirt cheongsam for alteration, there was a lady who wanted to have her DvF wrap dress altered as well. That got me thinking that perhaps we can incorporate the warp design into cheongsam dress. It won’t be completely without buttons, but studs can be added on the chest area, with a bottom wrap held by the tie. I do realize, though, that the type of fabric material used is essential for the dress to drape beautifully.

Anyway I have digressed. So back to OBP’s other designs for the first CNY collecton. There is the usual sleeveless flare skirt cheongsam.
image

And the cheongsam top.
image
I don’t know why it is paired with a white jean skirt with tattered seams, which I find makes the whole get-up sloppy.

Anyway OBP is planning their next CNY launch in end December, after Christmas, with 15 designs this time. Most of them would be in the ubiquitous red color, befitting of a CNY dress. Hopefully there will be new designs then because this batch looks a little tiring.

Another online boutique, Joli Pretty, also had its first CNY launch that took place last Friday. According to Ann, one of the co-owners, they brought forward the launch date by a week.

To be honest, the collection is also not inspiring, whether it’s the designs or prints. In fact it looks rather run of the mill without any outstanding piece.
image
image
image
image
image

By the way, The Happy Cheongsam will be launching its next collection this Friday evening local time. This is not the CNY theme, but inspired by a trip to the zoo. Unfortunately, instead of being whimsical, there are a lot of kiddy prints and so most of the designs are strictly for the young ladies: below 30 years old can check it out.
image
Like this dress above, if I were to wear it, it would be a picture of farcical youthfulness, like the late Nina Wang aka 小甜甜. The print on the skirt reminds of that for children bed linen.

image

Another dress for young girls.

There are 3 tops offered this time, mainly in kiddy prints, like this below. (My toddler son has two whimsical panda T-shirts, and so such prints should be restricted to the young.)
image

Still, there are two designs for the more mature crowd, one of which is a mother-daughter set. Unfortunately, like that from OBP, the set doesn’t jump out at me, and the little girl cheongsam is not very pretty either.
image

The designs for this latest collection from THC stick rather closely to previous ones; there is no pushing of any envelope here, nor anything interesting. I’m disappointed to say I don’t see anything chic.

Leave a Reply

