The Blum Cheongsams

Blum, as usual, launches new cheongsam designs every week, although they only ramp up during the last few weeks before CNY, which is only a month away.

The below purple dress, which also comes in red, is a pleated A-line, a design which is flattering for the pear-shaped body type. But I’ve no idea what’s with the bow at the side waist. It would be better if it is a waist tie instead.

20131227-233548.jpg

I thought this is a pretty print, reminds me of undersea corals. Though I’m not a fan of the front key-hole design, but I will make an exception for this dress, especially since it has cap-sleeves and my favorite straight-cut sillouette.

20131227-234023.jpg

Blum is recycling last CNY collection and the below cheongsam is one of them. (I checked out so many of their cheongsams that I actually have recollections that a dress looks familiar and true enough, I featured this dress in my post “Cheongsam galore or NOT” dated 13 December 2012.) This is a chic dress, but please ditch the necklace. If you want to accessorize, go for earrings instead. In fact if you wear this with piled-up hairdo, with shoulder duster earrings, you’ll look stunning.

20131227-233623.jpg

This is a sensual-looking cheongsam in red Japanese kimono-inspired print. Again ditch the necklace which is totally unnecessary. I’m not sure if the belt comes with the dress, but at least that’s acceptable.

20131227-233753.jpg

A beautiful cheongsam in Chinese water-color print of peonies.

20131227-233830.jpg

An interesting straight-cut modern design with panels of different red tones. It’s not easy to pair different panels on a dress. I didn’t get to look at the fabrics very closely but they do look similar and so they work in this case.

20131227-233928.jpg

Then there is the psychedelic print which designers have a tendency to go for. If you look at it long enough, you might start seeing others in the same psychedelic colors.

20131228-143002.jpg

Below are pictures of cheongsams that Blum put up outside their Clifford Center boutique. I haven’t seen the dress below on display yet. It looks to me like a batik print, and it looks drab on picture.

20131228-150734.jpg

The dress below has similar design to the red Kimono-inspired one above, though the latter is more outstanding.

20131228-150810.jpg

Cheongsam with batik print, as seen on model and on the rack. Personally I don’t like the multiple key-hole design on the chest.

20131228-152430.jpg

20131228-152531.jpg

I have also seen a couple of other dresses, recycled from last year, on the mannequins. I’m not sure if Blum is selling them at discount or not at all, like Miz Apparels. I guess the boutique launched so many designs last year that they decided to recycle some of them.

Leave a Reply

