Playing with colors – the eyeshadow way (Updated on 24 June)

When it comes to eyeshadow colors, I’m quite adventurous to try different ones to match my clothes. In an earlier post ‘At long last, a beauty update’ dated 5 Jan, I mentioned the duo eyeshadow colors of blue and green that I bought from Sephora. I use that to match with clothes of similar colors.

Some time ago, I wanted pink eyeshadow and went searching through the usual brands like Maybelline, L’Oreal, Revlon, Kate, Marjolica Majorca or Silky Girl, but couldn’t find any that appealed to me. Whatever pink colors available were rather dull looking. So when I was at Watsons store at Changi City Point mall, I stumbled on the ‘Hello Kitty’ brand of eyeshadow. There is a duo palette of fuchsia pink color eyeshadow and pale pink base, which I thought look really pretty. You can see how much I like the colors.

20130619-183201.jpg

A few months ago, I was looking for a sparkly white or beige base. I checked out Everyday Minerals, an online cosmetics store where I used to stock up on eyeshadows. I’m not sure if it’s because the makeup supposedly is made from natural minerals but they tend to be of earthy colors. I chose a light pearl beige color called ‘Queen Anne’s Lace, which comes in a travel bottle with roll-on applicator. I have realized since that there is a reason why the brush is the preferred makeup tool, you just can’t use the applicator to apply evenly. Anyway the color is too light for my liking.

20130621-065926.jpg

Most of the eyeshadow colors from Everyday Minerals that I have are dark colors such as this dark red which goes by the name ‘Wish you were here’. Don’t ask me why it’s named that.

20130620-184230.jpg

Then there’s ‘Mystic Night’, a dark purple color.

20130620-184425.jpg

The more funky color is this ‘Oasis’, a sparkly gold color which, unfortunately I don’t get to apply often because it’s something you would wear for clubbing.

20130620-184630.jpg

Of course there is the de rigueur pink ‘Romance Novel’, but this is not as exciting as the color from Hello Kitty.

20130620-184818.jpg

I searched other brands for a sparkly base color, and Hello Kitty did not disappoint with this shimmery white base.

20130620-185305.jpg

20130620-185708.jpg

Recently I wanted a red-colored eyeshadow since previously I had used an orange color from Everyday Minerals to match my red clothes. It’s strange that most brands don’t carry red color, maybe it’s because very few women will wear red on their eyelids. But I managed to find a trio-color palette from Canmake, a Japanese brand, that has a pretty red, a pale pink base and a chocolate brown for highlight.

20130621-175729.jpg

I’m also thinking about the next color to try, maybe a bright purple or electric blue color, like these jewel tone Color Tattoo eyeshadow from Maybelline.

20130621-184948.jpg
I think the turquoise blue and the purple colors look fabulous, as seen in this model.

20130621-185624.jpg

(Update)
I finally got the turquoise blue color of Color Tattoo from Maybelline, called ‘Tenacious Teal’. I decided not to get the purple color which I fear may be difficult to match with clothes since it’s a little too intense.

This is a cream gel eye shadow, which is easy to apply and less messy too compared to powder which is likely to transfer to the lower eyelids. Just a little is enough for a stand-out effect. It also doesn’t melt or fade like powder eyeshadow, pretty good staying power.

20130624-075917.jpg

20130624-080701.jpg

Leave a Reply

