Sweets for my sweet?

Twelve Cupcakes

20130408-080832.jpg
I know many are familiar with Twelve Cupcakes since the store has been around for some time, and has been expanding quite rapidly. It’s probably the most famous cupcake store here, especially since it was founded by local celebrities. Truth be told I didn’t know this until I googled for information on the price. Anyway they’re just minor celebrities.

I first tried it early last year when a colleague bought a dozen for the office. I thought it was alright, not as moist as those from Cupcakes with love, which I reviewed in ‘Cupcakes, Anyone?’ posted on 16 August last year. I didn’t bother to check out the store, though there is one near my office.

Earlier this year, while waiting for a table at Din Tai Fung at Parkway Parade (at the newly revamped dining wing), I was feeling pretty hungry and there was a long queue at DTF. Round the corner was a Twelve Cupcakes bakery, and the signboard shows a variety of selections available, including 12 everyday flavors (hence the name), which is more than what CwL offers.

20130408-080917.jpg

Like CwL, the cupcakes are nothing fancy, and they appear to be the same size (about 2.5″ wide). Even though some find the cupcakes a little expensive, they’re actually slightly cheaper at S$3 each for the everyday flavor, compared to S$3.50 at CwL. (US$1=S$1.24)

20130408-081240.jpg

20130408-081307.jpg

20130408-081332.jpg

I got a box of 3 cupcakes which I shared with my husband: chocolate chocolate, the popular red velvet, and one of the monthly specials, lychee martini (which costs slightly more).

20130408-084735.jpg

Maybe the cupcakes I tried this time were freshly baked since there’re ovens in store, they were quite moist. The red velvet is pretty good with a dollop of sour cream on top which complements the light sweetness of the cake base. The Chocolate Chocolate cupcake has a rich chocolatey taste but a tad sweet. I don’t find the Lychee Martini anything special.

Patisserie Glacé
I admit I’m slow to check out this Japanese patisserie shop, which has been around since 2008. I only found out about Glacé when I saw a colleague having a strawberry cake recently, and she told me about the shop at #01-16 Republic Plaza. I also found out from her that the Japanese owner pastry chef of Flor Patisserie was previously from Glacé. So naturally I have to check out the selections.

The product offerings of both Glacé and Flor are similar as expected. Notably are the ice cheese tarts, Madeleine, financier, and fresh cream cakes with fruits etc. Glacé has baumkuchen, which is not available at Flor and instead the latter offers chiffon and tea cakes.

20130409-171324.jpg

20130409-171514.jpg

I first tried the ice cheese tart at Glacé, the earl grey flavor, while previously I had the choco orange flavor at Flor. I thought the cheese tart at Glacé tastes slightly better in that it’s more creamy. I loves cheese and so the cheese tart from Glacé hits the right note. It is slightly cheaper at S$3.20 compared to S$3.40 at Flor.

20130409-163806.jpg

I also tried the Bienen at Glacé, a German tart with a cookie base topped with roasted walnuts and almond and set in brown nougat. I don’t like it, I find the nougat a little too hard and sweet for my liking.

The other day, I decided to get the Strawberry Hill cake that my colleague had.

20130409-171729.jpg
I shared the cake with my husband and both of us don’t like it. The chiffon cake base is too dry, and I don’t find it as fabulous as what many reviewers claimed. My husband thought perhaps because I bought the cake during lunch time and we had it in the late afternoon, the cake base lost its moisture from being in the fridge for too long. But I remember I had also kept the Flor cake in the fridge, it didn’t dry out and instead was really good.

Hokkaido Food Fair
Last weekend, we checked out the Hokkaido fair at Takashimaya after my friend, Jenny, alerted me to it. She raved about the fabulous cheesecakes. So when I was checking out the stall, I had a taste of the sample piece of the original and caramel flavors. I thought it was not bad and decided to get a box of the original. It’s called Mel Cheese, and is pretty expensive for a box of 8 dainty pieces costing S$18. Each piece is only 2″ long.

20130410-080601.jpg

20130409-184249.jpg

20130409-184337.jpg

The next day I had a piece and found that it tastes better than the sample I had. I wondered if I should have bought another box. My husband also had a piece and he exclaimed, “this is very good! How come you only bought one box?” And when I mentioned the caramel flavor, a favorite of his, he went, “you should have bought that!” I told him it was a little sweeter than the original and so I didn’t get it, but he didn’t buy the excuse. Unfortunately it was already the evening of the last day of the fair. My husband lamented we should have gone to Takashimaya earlier that day. You see, despite the cheesecake being in the fridge for some time, it remains creamy and moist, in fact it’s super yummy. I can imagine how heavenly it will be to have it fresh in Hokkaido. To redeem myself, I offered my husband the rest of the cheesecakes. Now I’ve to check out if Meidi-ya supermarket is having a Hokkaido food fair soon.

I also bought a chestnut and matcha mousse cake from the same patisserie stall. It has a matcha (green tea) mousse sitting on a chocolate cake base and top off with dollop of fresh cream and a chestnut. I’m sure it’s been in the fridge for some time and yet it’s quite good, and typical of Japanese cake, it’s light and not very sweet.

20130409-210742.jpg

It’s actually a small slice of cake, at 3″ long. You get the perspective from the picture below. The cake is held together by paper holders, with a pack of dry ice and a spoon provided. So it’s really not cheap at S$6.

20130409-210919.jpg

Anyway given the steep prices of the patisserie, I don’t mind getting the Mel cheese cakes again, but not sure about the single sliced cake.

Leave a Reply

