Cheongsams in abundance part I: it’s raining cheongsams at Blum

Now that Christmas and the New Year have come and gone, it’s time to prepare for the biggest festival of the year, Chinese or lunar new year. I’ve come to realize that Blum boutique was offering a teaser prior to the new year, albeit an unattractive one. They are actually bidding their time to launch the better designs now that attention is turned to the Chinese festival. Known as the Lunar New Year collection, Blum is launching design after design like there’s no tomorrow, displaying a new piece everyday at the window. Some of them are recycled from the last festive season, like these below. (You can compare them with those I featured in the post ‘It’s that time of the year for cheongsam’ dated 29 Dec 2011.)

20130107-165012.jpg

20130107-160831.jpg

This is a beautiful modern design which is a slight variation of last season. The two large front pockets allow single ladies to keep their red packets (angpows or Lai See) if they are carrying a small purse.

20130107-161501.jpg
These flower button adds a touch of whimsy to the dress.

20130107-164523.jpg

I like the high shoulder-cut design of this cheongsam, which suits women with broad shoulder, and the abstract art print. Note the front right slit which facilitates movement since this is a figure-hugging dress.

20130107-165547.jpg

This serious-looking cheongsam is best for office wear. In fact I think it’s a little too somber for Chinese New Year.

20130107-172018.jpg

This dark fuchsia pink cheongsam is versatile enough for the festive occasion and as an office wear. You won’t look like you’re in perpetual Chinese New Year color when the festive period is over.

20130107-173641.jpg

I’m not too crazy about the dress below. I don’t like the print which reminds me of a table cloth and neither do I like the flare hemline. There’s also an outdated feel to the dress.

20130107-173812.jpg

I like the design of this cheongsam, but not so much the print which I thought looks a little schizo. What’s with the Dali-like art and daisy print? The juxtaposition of both just doesn’t work.

20130108-133308.jpg

But the print for this cheongsam is beautiful; it reminds me of a kimono fabric. Together with the colors, the dress looks really regal.

20130108-162144.jpg

This dress is not exactly a cheongsam but it has Chinese accents with the mandarin collar and oriental buttons. I’m not sure why Blum sales staff accessorizes it with the red belt with a bow and the dangling necklace. I personally think the belt is ugly and the necklace just doesn’t match the dress. A multi-strand jade necklace would be more fitting. Otherwise just ditch the necklace.

20130108-163803.jpg

I think Blum designer wanted to follow the Peter Pan collar trend by incorporating a beaded mandarin collar on this cheongsam. Personally I find this design run of the mill.

20130108-191850.jpg

This cheongsam dress stands out with its contrasting black and red colors despite its simplicity.

20130109-084310.jpg
There are different Chinese buttons, the simple strip button on the collar and the row of red round buttons along the right slit.

20130109-172533.jpg

The cheongsam below has a busy Chinese water-color art print, which is then contrasted with the simple round buttons. Please don’t follow the accessorizing style of Blum staff with similar dangling necklace. This dress doesn’t require any necklace and any other accessories should be kept simple, like a pair of diamond ear studs for instance.

20130109-173004.jpg

2 thoughts on “Cheongsams in abundance part I: it’s raining cheongsams at Blum

  1. Hi,

    I’ve noticed your love for cheongsams and would really like some advice from you.

    Previously you blogged about a few cheongsam tailors. I would like to get a cheongsam custom made for my wedding. Something very traditional like those worn in the 1920s (Shanghai). Which cheongsam tailor, in your opinion, do you think has the best workmanship and creates a flattering silhouette?

    Thanks.

    • Hi Mae,

      I would recommend going to Gary at Kang’ Boutique (www.kangsboutique.com) to have your wedding cheongsam made. I went to him for mine, and he’s familiar with the traditional cheongsam worn by the society ladies of Shanghai in the 1930’s, which was when the cheongsam evolved into the fitting, high-collared dress that we all know of. So I believe you meant that era and not the 20’s. Gary makes beautiful cheongsams and he makes the flower buttons himself. I too love the cheongsams from the 30’s era, and for my wedding cheongsam I requested to follow the same trend of having buttons along the right side of the bodice. So in all I had 10 buttons, which was quite a pain for Gary because the buttons are rather intricate. When he was done he suffered aching fingers, and I think he regretted agreeing to my request. 😛

      Maria

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

