Crossing from 2012 to 2013: embracing life with baby

2012, the year the world was supposedly to end on 21 December according to the Mayan calendar. If you had believed this fluff, which came from a bunch of people who couldn’t even prevented their own downfall, I don’t know what to say. Seriously, who can predict the end of the world?

Instead, 2012 is a year of big changes for me when I have my first child. To be honest I didn’t expect to have a baby at 41. After many years of marriage without a child, I was already used to couplehood. But my husband never gave up the hope of having a baby, and to him it was just a matter of time. So on 1st of June, baby Alex came along and is now a major focus of our lives. Yes, our lifestyle and priorities have completely changed, especially for me.

20121228-175455.jpg

Previously when I saw mothers feeding their babies first before they had their meals, I used to be amazed by that. I didn’t think I could put aside my hunger because the phrase ‘a hungry woman is an angry woman’ applies to me. It’s amazing how having a baby can changed me. I’m not saying that I’ve totally changed but I’ve learned to put Alex first, before myself. In the past, I never noticed babies except when there was a bawling one around and I would give him/her an irritated stare. But now, I find myself noticing every babies around me and can’t resist checking them out and making comparisons with Alex. It turns out the sonographer was right when she described him as a handsome boy from the ultrasound scan. You may think I’m biased, but Alex is cuter than many babies out there. In fact whenever we take him out, he’ll acquire new fans, mostly women (regardless of age) who gush over him. On a number of occasions, we have young women who wave at him while exclaiming “the baby is so cute!”. This would then illit a resopnse from my husband, “their boyfriends look worried!’

20121227-161638.jpg

Over the months, we see Alex grows at quite an amazing rate. From the initial scrawny baby suffering from jaundice, he became so chubby within two months that I was asked quite a few time what I fed him with. We’re also amazed by his varied facial expressions and self-awareness.

20121228-173009.jpg

20121228-122239.jpg

20121228-122620.jpg

Many times Alex gets mistaken for an older baby, like a 12-month old. He’s almost 7 months old now, but has pretty long body which now measures 68.8cm (27.48″). When we take him to a restaurant, the wait staff often offer to provide a baby high chair for him. He can almost sit up now. He can’t crawl yet, but he’s very comfortable supporting himself on his arms. He can turn his body in different directions and pushes himself or roll to where he wants to be.

20121228-213641.jpg

Now, because of Alex, we’re usually home in the early evening as we have to bathe and put him to sleep. We find that many parents allow their babies or toddlers to stay up late, which we don’t think it’s good for their development. The little ones require a lot of sleep and they should be tucked in early in the night. Of course I know that for younger babies, there’s the witching hours between 5pm to 11pm when they don’t want to fall asleep, which we’ve experienced with Alex when he was a few months old. We had to push him in the stroller around our condo estate at 10pm to get him to sleep. But when he turned 5 months, he was able to sleep earlier and we didn’t have to do that any more until last week when he had trouble sleeping because of his illness.

I’ve to admit there’re quite a few times when I was tempted to put up a ‘baby for adoption’ ad and even wondered why I agreed to have a baby, like when Alex woke up every 2 to 2.5 hours to be fed in the night or have his diaper changed. Also the time when he wanted to suckle on the breast instead of taking the bottle when I was exhausted. And when he was sick recently and wanted to be cuddled at 3.00am, and I couldn’t sit on the bed while holding him as he demanded me to walk him around the bedroom though I suffered from aching feet and sore back. I was a little tempted to tell him sternly to give me a break. But after the episodes passed, I would regret those thoughts. Alex is still my precious and I’ll go to great length to care for and protect him. For hell hath no fury like a petulantchild when someone hurt or bullied her baby.

As 2013 approaches, what my husband and I wish for Alex in the new year is for him to develop well and be healthy. We also hope he’ll continue to be a happy and smiley baby.

20121228-212826.jpg

Throughout this year, my husband has again been a pillar of support to me. He accompanied me to every visits to gynae Loh’s clinic, and was there to assist me during childbirth. He’s a very hands-on father to Alex, taking care of him in every ways from feeding, bathing to changing diapers, cuddling and playing with him. My husband strongly believes that he should build strong bond with Alex, and is a coach and mentor in addition to being his father. I know I haven’t shown much appreciation to my husband as I should. So in the new year I hope to change that.

To the two guys in my life, you are both most important to me and I love you with all my heart.

3 thoughts on “Crossing from 2012 to 2013: embracing life with baby

    • Thanks for your comment. Motherhood is not really scary but it is hard work. Still, being a mother will change a person, like me for instance. Someone used to tell me that the sight of my baby smiling at me was priceless. At that time I was childless and didn’t understand what the big deal was about. Now I have a baby, I finally do.

      Wishing you and your family a wonderful new year!

      Sent from my iPhone

  1. Aww! It’s been a while since I last saw baby Alex πŸ™‚ He looks like a tall one too! And I’m with you on throwing that irritated stare to a brawling baby in a restaurant before baby came along. Guilty! These days, I’m on the receiving end of annoyed stares at baby’s little squeals of delight. But hey, I rather a happy squeal-y, smiley baby than too-quiet one.
    Happy New Year to you and the family πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

