Cheongsam galore or Not

It is the time of the year when cheongsams are abound in many boutiques and department stores, because Chinese New Year is round the corner after Christmas. I’ve been checking out the usual boutiques that offer the quintessential Chinese outfit. My verdict is that the coming new year will be a disappointment if the designs are of any indication. What happened to the designers??? It’s as if everybody is suffering from a mental loss of good ideas.

Blum, which had pretty good designs the past couple of years, must have decided to cut cost this year and hired some third-world designers. How else would you explain such atrocious looking cheongsams?

20121210-185717.jpg
It’s as if the designer flipped through a fashion magazine, took segments of different dresses, combine them together, threw in a skinny belt for good measure and called it a cheongsam.

20121210-185441.jpg
The above cheongsam is not much better; it’s like someone decided to go for a cut and paste design. Seriously what’s with the pleated hemline add-on? It just looks so wierd!

20121210-190702.jpg
I think Blum must have ordered too much fabric for a scarf and decided to use it for the cheongsam.

20121210-191657.jpg
I find this print garish. If you must get it, I really hope you have a slim and leggy physique, otherwise I’m afraid you can’t carry this off. (Update on 7 Jan) Below is another picture of the dress on the mannequin.

20130107-113654.jpg

The print on the below dress seems military-like to me. It makes the cheongsam looks a little severe.

20121213-080630.jpg

There are a couple of saving grace from Blum.

20121212-131513.jpg
This cheongsam makes for a sexy cocktail dress or a special night out. But you need a broad shoulder to carry it off. (Update: this cheongsam can be worn with or without the flower belt. I just found out it is S$480. It seems like Blum boutique is raising its cheongsam price every year. The year before, I got one below S$300; last year the dresses were in the S$300 range. Now they’re more than S$400!) Update on 17 Jan: most cheongsams are actually tagged at S$339.

20121218-132510.jpg
This is an elegant cheongsam with an interesting rich blue-colored print. It reminds me of another blue-colored cheongsam worn by the actress, TANG Wei, in the movie ‘Lust, Caution’. The peakaboo chest adds sensuality to the dress.

20121212-230014.jpg
This is one of the few modern designs that works. The obi belt-like cinching of the waist adds an interesting touch on the cheongsam. It may seem formal, but I think it works as an office wear too.

Blum also offers cheongsam in the classic design.

20121213-081019.jpg
But I don’t find this dress appealing because I prefer my cheongsam to be sleeveless or cap-sleeved. Besides I find this dress a little too prim and proper.

I will feature cheongsams from other boutiques in another post.

(Update on 14 Dec)

20121214-132330.jpg
I like this cheongsam even though it’s a short-sleeved one. The print reminds me of a garden.

(Update on 18 Dec)

20121218-140652.jpg
A modern print from Blum which doesn’t seem to work. I find the contrasting red and blue colors rather jarring.

20121219-160155.jpg
This is another view of the dress.

2 thoughts on “Cheongsam galore or Not

Leave a Reply

