Cheongsams from Qoo10, anyone? (Updated)

(I like to apologize first for getting this published prematurely yesterday. I had a bit of a problem getting used to the new WordPress format and accidentally pressed “Publish” before completing my post. This is the finalized version..)

Recently, out of curiosity, I decided to look at the type of cheongsams available for sale in Qoo10, a marketplace where sellers to set up online stores. (I mentioned in my previous post “Cheongsams from Etsy and others” that the stuff sold in qoo10 tend to be relatively cheaper than Etsy. It turns out there are a lot of cheongsams available, but they tend to be generic looking: the straight-cut fitting form with back zip. Still I was surprised by the price range of the dresses; they can be as cheap as less than S$20 to as much as more than S$400! Yet there don’t seem much differences between them, at least based on the pictures and absence of close look at the quality.

Let’s check out the cheap cheongsams available. If you are looking fur a one-off Chinese New Year dress, here is something for less than S $20. If the quality sucks, you can dump it when CNY is over. Though you have to keep your fingers crossed that it doesn’t look obviously cheap.
Cheongsam2

I had showcased the below dress in my previous post, which is selling in Etsy for more than S $160. The same dress (or maybe an imitation) is selling for less than a quarter of that in Qoo10!
cheongsam7

For those looking for wedding cheongsams on a budget, look no further than Qoo10. You have options of either short or long dresses for less than S $100. The fabrics are claimed to make up of tulle, organza, and chiffon. Whether or not the workmanship is up to mark is for you to find out after delivery. I’m sure alteration is required as well. I guess if you do have a small budget, and again for one-time wear, you can consider it.
cheongsam5

cheongsam6

Now comes the more expensive cheongsams, like the one below which costs more than S$160. The fabric is supposedly natural silk.
Cheongsam1

This floral-print cheongsam is more than S$300! The pattern is marketed as spray painted on instead of printed. I assume that may be one of the reasons for the higher price, for labor-intensive fabric? (Does this mean if the dress gets wet, the color may run?) In the item description, there is much touting of the mulberry silk fabric. From the closed up images of the cheongsam, the workmanship seems ok. Still, would anyone pays a few hundred bucks for a mass-produced piece?
image

Then there is a dress, also more than S$300, which I think has questionable workmanship. Look at the seam of the right sleeve compared to the left one, and the lumpy fabric on the chest.

image

This image is intentionally tinted to avoid any accusation from the seller.

And I don’t know how an expensive cheongsam can have seam like this?

image

This image is intentionally tinted.

My husband suggested there is no harm getting a cheap cheongsam from Qoo10, just to check out the quality. I may do that to see how it compares to what I have. But I am not sure if I will get any dress that costs more than S$100. It’s actually easier to make a cheongsam with back zip than to have one made with the traditional front opening. So these dresses are basically factory-made.

5 thoughts on “Cheongsams from Qoo10, anyone? (Updated)

  1. Hi! I really admire your taste and candid reviews. Since I’ll be in Singapore for a few days in November, I’d like to ask you what you think is the best one stop mall/area to buy a classic, tastefully designed cheongsam along the lines of shanghai tang. Looking forward to your recommendation! Thank you.

    • Hi Mary,

      Thanks for your compliment.

      I’m sorry to tell you that Shanghai Tang cheongsams are a class of their own. No other boutiques have sophisticated cheongsams with interesting combination of different fabric types.

      However if you are fine with elegant modern cheongsams with interesting features, you can check out Studio 55 at 15 Purvis Street. Not far away is Tong Tong Friendship Store at 100 Beach Road, #01-04/05 Shaw Towers. The dresses at Studio 55 has the classic high collar, whereas Tong Tong dresses tend to have short collars. I understand that recently Tong Tong collections have gone a little too modern with tunic-like dress etc, which I find uncheongsam-like, and over-designed.

      By the way, both boutiques above are relatively close to Raffles City mall, which has a Shanghai Tang store as well, and another shop that offers some modern cheongsams called “Xi”.

      Hope you are able to find what you want.

      Regards,
      Maria

  2. have you checked out taobao for cheongsams? u can get a plethora of designs for cheap! i’ve bought some cotton-linen ones previously for a song. they look mor expensive than priced = ) i also love CS and find most of the stuff pretty staid or overdone. lark and peony is great but wish they offered dresses in XS!

    • Hi there,

      Thanks for your comment. I haven’t checked out Taobao, and so must thank you for suggesting it. I will definitely do so and put up a post on it.
      I thought L&P cheongsams are alright. There are some prints which are a little too matronly for my taste. The latest collection is not bad but I find the collar too low for me. Would be good if it is at least 4cm high. So I am looking forward to checking out the Princess series which have higher collar and interesting design.

Leave a comment